Latest Reviews

There are way too many records released every week - which one should you listen to? Why is the new Bruit the best record of the year? Which post-metal record is the dark-horse of the year? Questions that we want to answer - we review lots of records every week and you can also check out a little teaser before reading the whole thing. And if you want to, you can also browse through our archive and have a look at the amazing records you might have missed out on.

Page 6 of 31

  • La Reine Seule - Visages

    22 Jun 2022 - Knut
    Neo-Classical Piano

    And now for something completely different: When the artist´s label announced this album they wrote something like “This is the quietest album we have released.” We can concur with that here at Veil of Sound; the quietest album reviewed as it is an album with eight pieces for classic solo piano by Judith Hoorens.

    Continue reading >

  • Llyn Y Cwn - Du Y Moroedd

    21 Jun 2022 - Dan D.
    Dark Ambient

    Llyn Y Cwn is the one-man field-recording-based dark ambient project of Ben Powell who, as it states on the Bandcamp page, has been making electronic music for over 25 years. Having been aware of Llyn Y Cwn for a couple of years now since enjoying 2019’s Cold Spring debut Twll Du and the follow-up Dinorwic, I was extremely looking forward Du Y Moroedd when I became aware of its release.

    Continue reading >

  • Dinbethes - Balans

    20 Jun 2022 - Thorsten
    (Atmospheric) Black Metal

    There are some bands that just don’t make it easy on you – Dinbethes might be one of them. Their mix of black metal structures, punk tempi, pagan shouts, doom moments and sometimes even psychedelic parts is not unheard of, not unusual but in some way different and hard to pinpoint. But one thing remains clear – this is, at its core, black metal of the highest standards!

    Continue reading >

  • Kalkas - Envoûtante sève

    17 Jun 2022 - Thorsten
    Post-Metal, Noise-Rock

    Envoûtante sève (or “Bewitching Sap“ in English) is the title of a five-track debut by Swiss doom-psychedelic-noise-rock Kalkas from Lausanne, located in the Francophone part of the country. It has five supporters on Bandcamp today (June 17th, 2022) and that needs to change as more people need to find out about the band, their record and their anger at the people who cause our planet to rot away!

    Continue reading >

  • Aptera - You Can't Bury What Still Burns

    17 Jun 2022 - Knut
    Heavy Metal/Doom Metal

    Formed in Berlin in 2018 with members from Italy, Belgium, USA and Brazil, Aptera is a showcase of what synergy brings when accomplished musicians unite. Through this album the band discharge anger, compassion, despair, remorse and sorrow. The record is released by a firebrand of musicians wearing their hearts on their sleeves. It is quite hard to believe that this magnificent album is their first full-length. It is what heavy doom-induced metal should be: Engaging riffs reinforced by a diverse rhythm section, robust vocals and at the same time highlighting many ideas and influences from ancient Greek, Roman, Celtic and Norse myths and legends, but also current events, loss, resilience just to name a few.

    Continue reading >

  • Druids - Shadow Work

    16 Jun 2022 - Thorsten
    Psychedelic Metal

    Druids is not your average Pelagic Records band – by the way is there something like an average Pelagic band as nearly everything that label has put out over the last couple of years was mighty interesting? But Druids is like a mix of two poles under the Pelagic roster sun – psychedelic a la Oslo Tapes and Sludge as in Pelagic. The band from the middle of nowhere is really great at being heavy and being moody.

    Continue reading >

  • Zola Jesus - Arkhon

    14 Jun 2022 - Thorsten
    Electronic, Dark Wave

    A few weeks ago I started a review with connecting the music to that old and still not confirmed Merzbow-quote that noise is only music that makes one uneasy and that therefore pop music to him was noise. Now I want to talk about a pop record that would probably not make the Japanese squirm because of uneasiness but would soothe his ears: Arkhon the latest release by Wisconsin-based pop-singer Zola Jesus!

    Continue reading >

  • Blood Quartet - Root 7

    12 Jun 2022 - Stephan
    jazz fusion, kraut rock, instrumental

    Don’t judge an album by the first eight of its nine tracks!

    Continue reading >

  • 36 - Symmetry Systems

    12 Jun 2022 - Skyler
    Ambient

    36 releases a great new synth album

    Continue reading >

  • Blut Aus Nord - Disharmonium - Undreamable Abysses

    10 Jun 2022 - Knut
    Experimental Industrial Atmospheric Black Metal

    The 17th release by this impressive band is not exactly sonorous, something we did not expect anyway. But it is resounding and overwhelming in a disorderly seductive way when the cracks in the dense wall of sound uncover structures, themes and choirs in an endless tangled red tunnel. It could have been the soundtrack to the Upside Down world in Stranger Things Season 4, but each track is a tip of the hat to a story or to a place in the universe of H.P. Lovecraft. The list of metal related bands that are inspired by Lovecraft´s writings is endless and stretches over decades. It began with Black Sabbath rephrasing the Lovecraft-title Beyond the Wall of Sleep to ”Behind the Wall of Sleep” on their first album.

    Continue reading >

  • Sylvaine - Nova

    09 Jun 2022 - Thorsten
    Post-Metal, Blackgaze

    So first of all, the next one who tells me that this woman sounds like Amy Lee from Evanescence will be meeting his final end with twelve stones. And now to the more important thing: Kathrine Shepard, the Norwegian multi-instrumentalist who relocated to France for her band, has released her fourth album Nova and with it yet another perfect example of where music could end up when we imagine a world without borders.

    Continue reading >

  • Executioner's Mask - Winterlong

    09 Jun 2022 - Thorsten
    Post-Punk, Industrial, Noise-Rock

    Jay Gambit is a very prolific and productive man – over the years he has produced a vast opus which glitters in various shades from “harsh” to “gritty”, from “brittle” to “powerful”. All of these and much more can be used to describe the songs of his band Executioner’s Mask, which will release their second full-length Winterlong next week!

    Continue reading >

  • Hundred Year Old Man - Sleep in Light

    08 Jun 2022 - Simon
    Post-Metal / Doom

    Post metal heavyweights Hundred Year Old Man return with an astonishing, beguiling new album

    Continue reading >

  • Enphin - End Cut

    04 Jun 2022 - Gene
    Industrial, Psychedelic, Electronic, Doom

    Here come Enphin, new to the Pelagic roster and pretty new to me, but I’ve had myself an early listen and it turns out they’ve got a bunch of albums to date and a solid mission to fuck up your brain. Formerly known as “Mr. Peter Hayden” (is this Hayden a golem not unlike Eddie The Hand?) and following up on the astounding Osiris Hayden of 2019’s end, End Cut comes at us as if out of the late 90’s in the way of heavy-hitting, high concept doom rock. That is my quick and dirty on Enphin, allegedly ending an album cycle here – although doubtfully an idea arc – with the masterful End Cut.

    Continue reading >

  • Macelleria Mobile di Mezzanotte - This Savaging Disaster

    03 Jun 2022 - Thorsten
    Doom Jazz

    Whenever one thinks he got a reviewer figured out it is the duty of said reviewer to come up with something unexpected which he likes and which he can convince you of easily. So here is my unexpected review of a wonderful record: Macelleria Mobile di Mezzanotte (what a name!) and their latest full-length This Savaging Disaster!

    Continue reading >

  • The Sun Burns Bright - A Hollow World

    02 Jun 2022 - Knut
    Post Rock

    This is the fourth release from the band since first releasing an album in 2018. On that release there is a track which for me was one of the most beautiful from that year. It is called “Forward We Move, Upward We Climb” and to me that is a description of the uplifting and bright music created by the force behind the band, Christopher (Chris) Garr. He composes everything and plays all the guitars from which exquisite melodies and soundscapes flow.

    Continue reading >

  • Sagor Som Leder Mot Slutet - III

    01 Jun 2022 - Daniel F.
    Post Rock

    It’s been a strange few months for me when it comes to new music. As a huge fan of post rock, I have spent the last few years immersing myself in as much content as I could squeeze out of the genre, delving as deeply as humanly possible into each subgenre and style. In some ways I feel as though I have overindulged, ending up in a mindset where this kind of music has become a little stale. Because of this, I’ve listened to a lot less ‘post’ releases than I have done in recent years, and in some cases (to my shame) I have felt as though I was falling out of love with the whole idea.

    Continue reading >

  • Thurston Moore - Screen Time

    31 May 2022 - Thorsten
    Experimental, Avantgarde

    Before listening to a record by Thurston Moore you never know what you’re gonna get – it could be harsh noise or experimental ambient, it could be perfect alternative rock or it could be austere avantgarde. His latest work was even released on Southern Lord Records – but, it only fits the label’s roster in the way that it doesn’t care about that roster – just like several other bands on there too. What do we get with Screen Time? Well, let’s just say it’s more ambient and avantgarde than anything else.

    Continue reading >

  • Freja - Tides

    29 May 2022 - Thorsten
    Atmospheric Blackgaze

    Tides are one of the strongest forces in the world – ebb and flow are responsible for a lot of processes here on mother Earth. Tides is also the name of the debut album by new Dutch atmospheric black metal outfit Freja – and it lives up to its programmatic name!

    Continue reading >

  • Kikagaku Moyo - Kumoyo Island

    28 May 2022 - Stephan
    Psychedelic Rock

    In 2012 Kikagaku Moyo was born as a music collective on the streets of Tokyo. Ten years later the band looks back on several albums, relocating to the Netherlands and having toured around the globe, establishing them as one of the most spectacular live bands in psychedelic music. To quit now would be a huge surprise from the outside, but certainly the highest possible note on which anyone could leave. But yes, that’s exactly what the Japanese quintet is doing this year. Luckily, they are saying goodbye not only on stage, but also with this last album.

    Continue reading >

  • Olhava - Reborn

    27 May 2022 - Knut
    Atmospheric Black Metal/Blackgaze/Dark Ambient/Ambient

    With the arrival of a new release from Olhava you know what you get. At the same time, you know that as with every single previous release, you will be pleasantly surprised by the directions the music takes: The emotions, the carefully scripted development of the music and how it pans out in all its cinematic and celestial splendor. There is always an eye on the musical theme that builds the sonics, sometimes with effective minor changes in the massive soundscapes. It is almost unfathomable to grasp the immense creativity, passion and imagination that flows from the creators of this awe-inspiring atmospheric black metal music.

    Continue reading >

  • Wo Fat - The Singularity

    25 May 2022 - Simon
    Stoner, Blues, Doom

    Take a journey with San Ramon-natives Wo Fat and their sonic exploration of the furthest reaches of the strange times we find ourselves in. Come and walk over the tipping point and see what they have to say

    Continue reading >

  • Blanck Mass - Ted K (Original Motion Picture Score)

    24 May 2022 - Thorsten
    Ambient, Industrial, Drone

    Are we allowed to appreciate the soundtrack to a movie about a serial killer? That is indeed a very good question as it is raising a question similar to the question of how to differentiate between the art and the artist. When listening to Blanck Mass’ newest score for the new Tony Stone movie Ted K the first is a question that might not directly come to mind, but it might arise when thinking about it and remembering that this is the score to the new Unabomber-movie!

    Continue reading >

  • Author & Punisher - Krüller

    23 May 2022 - Thorsten
    Industrial, Shoegaze

    Surely, Tristan wanted to make a good record. Unsure, if he wanted to create a new soundscape with it. Surely, Author & Punisher has a lot of love for the 90s. Unsure, whether it was planned to modernize several genres at once. Surely, Krüller is a very strong contender for AOTY lists 2022 – mine for sure. Outstanding record.

    Continue reading >

  • The Introvert - Carry The Bomb, Carry The Power

    22 May 2022 - Jonas
    Electronic / Glo-Fi / Dream Pop

    The Introvert is the sobriquet under which Jeremy Galindo decided to break away from the beaten path to explore new territories with their debut album – Carry The Bomb, Carry The Power!

    Continue reading >

Page 6 of 31