Latest Reviews

There are way too many records released every week - which one should you listen to? Why is the new Bruit the best record of the year? Which post-metal record is the dark-horse of the year? Questions that we want to answer - we review lots of records every week and you can also check out a little teaser before reading the whole thing. And if you want to, you can also browse through our archive and have a look at the amazing records you might have missed out on.

Page 6 of 13

  • Kavrila - Rituals III

    17 Feb 2021 - Thorsten
    Blackened Noiserock

    Hamburg’s most interesting band between hardcore and black metal complete their Rituals trilogy with the release of yet another interesting record.

    Continue reading >

  • ellende - triebe

    17 Feb 2021 - Thorsten
    Atmospheric Black Metal

    Austrian black metal institution Ellende reworks the songs from an EP that he released several years ago and the new sound does some astonishing things to the tracks.

    Continue reading >

  • Kabbalah - The Omen

    16 Feb 2021 - Thorsten
    Occult Stoner

    A sound somewhere between Blue Cheer and The Doors is mixed with choir enchantments to conjure the spirits on Kabbalah’s <i/The Omen</i>. Really spellbinding.

    Continue reading >

  • Mansur - Karma

    13 Feb 2021 - Ben
    Dark Jazz/Electronic

    Where were you when you first heard something unique? Something that you had never heard before. Sure, we can all accuse any band or artist of being derivative. There are only so many notes, so many combinations and so many instruments in the world… everything we hear is bound to have been done before, right? How about taking a mixture of darkjazz, then mixing in a pinch of metal vocals and finishing it off with a healthy handful of middle eastern spice?

    Continue reading >

  • Sepulcros - Vazio

    12 Feb 2021 - Thorsten
    Atmospheric Doom

    When a young band comes up with an impressive album riding the razor’s edge between Death and Doom Metal it should always be noteworthy, just like Sepulcros’s debut.

    Continue reading >

  • udånde - life of a purist

    11 Feb 2021 - Thorsten
    atmospheric black metal

    Udande proves to the dot that Vendetta Records is one of the labels for good black metal - this time with a lot to think about.

    Continue reading >

  • Flyingdeadman - The Night

    07 Feb 2021 - Pat O'
    Post-Rock / Ambient

    France is said to be the birthplace of cinema with it’s innovative style and flair and it’s fearless approach with experimentation. So it’s not surprising that bands like Flyingdeadman, Lost In Kiev and Oak for example, are artisans at seamlessly integrating film into their own craft. It’s a signature sound and style for a lot of bands in the “post rock” genre, but some bands are simply better than others when it comes to effortlessly blending the two art forms.

    Continue reading >

  • Sonic Flower - Rides Again

    07 Feb 2021 - Thorsten
    Heavy Stoner

    The legendary lost album by Church of Misery-side project resurfaced after more than fifteen years, rides again and shows why these guys are real masters at work!

    Continue reading >

  • ÂGE ⱡ TOTAL - ÂGE ⱡ TOTAL

    04 Feb 2021 - Thorsten

    Collaborative effort by French bands Greyfell and Endless Floods turns into one of the most charming, mesmerizing and sonically crunchy records of the year.

    Continue reading >

  • The Grief - Horizon's Fall

    02 Feb 2021 - Pat O'

    I was fearful that an underlying sense of pride and bias would creep into reviewing an album from a band that hail from my home-town of Cork, Ireland. However, I’m confident you will find that after immersing yourself in this album, you’ll agree that all the positive feedback it has received to date is on merit.

    Continue reading >

  • God Is An Astronaut - Ghost Tapes

    02 Feb 2021 - Pat O'

    I first heard God is An Astronaut play live in 2007 and it’s a moment that’s embedded in my mind forever. I stood in awe as images were projected onto a screen, with three silhouettes etched to the forefront. Thought provoking clips flashed and fizzed across the small stage as the band captivated us with wave after wave of hard hitting, emotive Post Rock beauty and melancholia. It was all incredibly euphoric and memorable. Fast forward nearly fourteen years and they are still playing mind blowing shows and releasing dramatic and cosmic material. “Ghost Tapes #10” is the latest chapter in their story.

    Continue reading >

  • Alkerdeel - Slonk

    02 Feb 2021 - Thorsten

    A few months ago we featured a review on the brilliant record Quelle by Belgian blackened doomsters Briqueville. This week we basically have the vice-versa record, some doomy black metal by Belgian band Alkerdeel in the form of their new record Slonk.

    Continue reading >

  • Works of the Flesh - Works of the Flesh

    31 Jan 2021 - Thorsten

    Death metal with a very very strong infusion of hardcore and crust makes for a very tasty meal on this debut album by Belgian band Work of the Flesh.

    Continue reading >

  • Abrahamic Liars - Genesis

    31 Jan 2021 - Thorsten

    Global black metal project wants to ignite your heart and mind with furious sounds between furious blackened punk and angriest blackened death metal.

    Continue reading >

  • Lizzard - Eroded

    28 Jan 2021 - Thorsten

    French Prog-Metal oufit joins the fold at Pelagic HQ and gives the roster a new, refreshing feature that takes time and repeats to grow but then doesn’t vanish from your memory. Good roster move, Robin!

    Continue reading >

  • Felperc - Five Stages of Grief

    28 Jan 2021 - Pat O'

    Have you ever experienced a time when you are drawn to an album for the first time and it’s not by the music, because you have yet to hear it? You find yourself pulled in by either the thought-provoking artwork, or it may be the unsettling album title that has struck a chord with you. It’s that feeling of warmth and excitement that sweeps over you when you finally sit down and bask in the glory of what tweaked your curiosity, and proved a masterstroke. This album gave me all of that.

    Continue reading >

  • Future Faces - Euphoria

    26 Jan 2021 - Thorsten

    Okay, I admit it and you can throw me to the dogs for it, but I never liked Joy Division and I know I never will, because the hype, the cult, the (pseudo-)mystique around it makes up for expectations that can’t be fulfilled. Interestingly, that doesn’t mean that I cannot enjoy post-punk once in a while. Especially if it doesn’t try to sound like the-band-formerly-known-as-Warsaw, or Stiff Kittens, for that.

    Continue reading >

  • La Bestia de Gevaudan - Kintsukuroi

    22 Jan 2021 - Thorsten

    Revisiting an album can be both painful and joyful, and sometimes both. With the recently re-released fifth full-length of Chilean noise-metal-outfit La Bestia de Gevaudan it’s the latter. It is joyful, because it is an album so perfect in all its entirety that it just simply blows your head off. And at the same time it is painful because this little author forgot to include it in his best-of-2019 list when it came out. Okay, maybe it’s more shame than pain, but not nice nevertheless.

    Continue reading >

  • Hadal - December

    22 Jan 2021 - Thorsten

    When a band tells you that they come from a “depressive town”, and that they were inspired by the “Finnish Gothic” movement of the 90s, then you know that you are not up for some light listening. This is really dark metal from the “lightless” side – which is also reflected in the lyrics, but a few words about that later.

    Continue reading >

  • Black Kalmar Skull - To All Whom I Loved

    22 Jan 2021 - Simon

    Not so long ago, one-man bands consisted of one person playing a guitar walking around with a base drum strapped to their back whilst occasionally playing a harmonica which was attached to their heads. It was slightly amusing, yet some folk got very good at it, still, it was quite a niche thing. Anyhow, fast forward a few years and nowadays, with the advent of home recording and mixing software, a lot more people can get in on the act. Like most things, some are better than others. Unsurprisingly considering my laboured into, todays offering is a one-man multi-instrumentalist from Verrona, Italy who goes by the moniker Black Kalmar Skull with his latest album To All Whom I Loved.

    Continue reading >

  • Alpha du Centaure - Paralysis

    19 Jan 2021 - Pat O'

    It’s a very tough time for any band to survive in the current climate, and especially without the opportunity to play live music and gigs. So, one would hope that the fallout from that would see bands and artists spending time in the studio writing and creating some aural wonders for us all to absorb. Thankfully that was definitely the case with Alpha Du Centaure. This band grabbed my attention, without any preconceived notions of their sound, or their journey in getting this album released.

    Continue reading >

  • The Ruins of Beverast - The Thule Grimoires

    17 Jan 2021 - Thorsten

    A grimoire is a medieval book trying to teach you how to combine magical symbols for the purpose of using these combinations as magical spells to conjure up something, find something or harm/destroy something. Sounds perfect for a (black) metal album, where rituals are always welcome as the thematic background of an album. The island of Thule was supposed to be the end of the (known) world in medieval times, allegedly located six days away from Britain, right in the middle of the Atlantic. Therefore a lot of people have connected the mysterious island with Atlantis. Another perfect backdrop for any metal album, although one should be careful as there have been several fascist and right-wing societies named “Thule Gesellschaft” (Thule Society) or “Thule Seminar”. So, at the beginning German black metal institution The Ruins of Beverast (named after an event in Nordic mythology after the collapse of the Bifröst) will release their latest full-length record which is named “The Thule Grimoires” - a collection of spells to locate Thule? Interesting is the contrast between the title, the content and the music, but we will come to that in a minute.

    Continue reading >

  • In Inertia - Effloresence

    17 Jan 2021 - Ben

    When you feel music washing through you, stroking your eardrums and radiating through you like a heater in a shop doorway on a cold day… that’s the feeling you get from Efflorescence – In Inertia’s debut EP.

    Continue reading >

  • Bestialis - Ritus

    17 Jan 2021 - Thorsten

    We all know the popular formula for good atmospheric black metal, but yet, there are always bands whose execution is so flawless that it simply demands attention and admiration and Bestialis’ new EP Ritus is one of these.

    Continue reading >

  • Slowly Building Weapons - ECHOS

    04 Dec 2020 - Thorsten
    Doomy-Experimental-Indie

    Australia is a land Down Under, but its music scene is definitely not down, it’s not going under, but vibrant and innovative, just like Slowly Building Weapons and their new album ECHOS

    Continue reading >

Page 6 of 13