Latest Reviews

There are way too many records released every week - which one should you listen to? Why is the new Bruit the best record of the year? Which post-metal record is the dark-horse of the year? Questions that we want to answer - we review lots of records every week and you can also check out a little teaser before reading the whole thing. And if you want to, you can also browse through our archive and have a look at the amazing records you might have missed out on.

Page 6 of 25

  • OAR - The Blood You Crave

    07 Jan 2022 - Knut
    Post Black Metal

    In 2017, the Australian band OAR released their first EP which even with a lo-fi approach was very promising. At the start of 2022, they live up to that promise releasing a remarkable first full-length album which gives a riveting listen with mighty soundscapes complementing the snarling and screaming vocals throughout the album. Add the stunning cover art by Osaki, with a motif from the spectacular Norwegian rock formation Trolltunga (“Troll´s Tongue”) stretching out 700 meters over a lake - it perfectly describes the music´s vastness.

    Continue reading >

  • Ustalost - Before The Glinting Spell Unvests

    05 Jan 2022 - Thorsten
    Psychedelic Black Metal

    Black Metal seems to have become THE most fertile ground for one-man-projects over the last couple of decades and of the reasons for that might be the possibility of hiding yourself and your ideas behind a curtain of lo-fi mush then called “raw black metal” in order to conceal any songwriting flaws or inabilities. Welcome to the complete opposite – Ustalost! Their newest record might be one of the most unique things in black metal that you will hear all year!

    Continue reading >

  • Misanthur - Ephemeris

    04 Jan 2022 - Thorsten
    Post-Black-Metal, Avantgarde

    Częstochowa is Southern Poland‘ s Silesia-region is famous worldwide for the icon of a Black Madonna in a nearby monastery which is centripetal point of many legends – my favorite one is the legend of a soldier who struck the icon twice with a sword and who then was struck by lightning! Many people know about the Black Madonna? Yes, but do many metal fans know about it? Maybe more than one thinks, but from now on, they should know the city as the origin of a pretty promising metal band called Misanthur!

    Continue reading >

  • Maudits - Angle Mort

    03 Jan 2022 - Ben
    Ambient, Post-Rock, Post-Metal

    Paris’s accursed Maudits have released their second record – an EP of five songs – two brand new tracks and three reworked versions of earlier material - after the departure of their bassist. Diving deeper than their previous release, Angle Mort sees the band bring greater eloquence to their sound.

    Continue reading >

  • Dakhma - Blessings Of Amurdad

    02 Jan 2022 - Thorsten
    Zoroastrian Black Metal

    Dakhma is one of the myriads of projects rooted in the Helvetic Underground Committee which we already featured heavily here on VoS. Although each of these projects has its signature sound or signature story-line there is none as unique as Dakhma with its singular blend of sounds from the Middle East and the Zoroastrian background of their black metal thunders! Their new full-length Blessings Of Amurdad is yet another proof for that!

    Continue reading >

  • Dead Neanderthals & Aaron Turner - Corporeal Flux

    01 Jan 2022 - Stephan
    Noise-Rock, Avantgarde, Sludge

    With advancing age and the repeated experience that the reset from month twelve to one so far has never activated some magic switch which would suddenly change the trajectory of humanity to the better, one could very well argue that the celebration of New Year’s Eve is a rather hollow affair. But luckily for everyone who’s feeling that way there are some beloved traditions which still keep justifying the festivities. Like Dead Neanderthals releasing a sick digital EP exactly one day before the end of every year.

    Continue reading >

  • Ripcord Records Compilation - You Matter

    31 Dec 2021 - Knut
    Black Metal, Blackgaze, Post Black Metal, Doom Metal, Post Metal, Progressive Metal, Sludge Metal, Trash Metal

    What a great compilation Ripcord Records has released! With the help of 101 bands the label has put together this compilation to raise money for the charity organization Papyrus in the UK, which helps young people struggling with suicidal thoughts. You get a lot through this compilation, not only to contribute to the good cause, but you will also discover many new bands and new music. Twelve hours and 17 minutes of great metal-related music is a good way to end the year and start fresh into the new year.

    Continue reading >

  • The Answer Lies In The Black Void - Forlorn

    30 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Doom

    The Gathering, for many people, are the first thing that comes to mind when being asked about a (Dutch) doom band with female lead vocals. Now we might have another one with the next enchanting 2021 release by Jason Köhnen, who once proves to be a wizard of many trades as he and his partner Martina Horváth release another collaboration – this time under the telling moniker The Answer Lies In The Black Void.

    Continue reading >

  • Papangu - Holoceno

    28 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Progressive Sludge Metal

    I honestly hate it when things like the following happen. I literally hate it and I will also later one tell you why. One of my most hated “events” is when at the end of the year someone claims to have found that one record from that year that we should all listen to because it is the record of the year - and I have never heard about the record or the band. Being curious me I have to check it out and now comes that “hate” moment – the person on social media was right! Maybe this is not THE album of 2021, but shit, it’s really, really good because it stills my eclectic mindset like only a few have done in 2021. And we here at VoS urgently need someone from South America to prevent us from not listening to records like Papangu’s amazing Holoceno! Urgently!!

    Continue reading >

  • Mütterlein - Bring Down The Flags

    27 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Ambient Noise Metal

    Mütterlein sounds a bit like “Lingua Ignota in metal” while she is having a musical flirt with Burial Hex and both are listening to some krauty psychedelia from the early 70s. Confusing? Not at all. Rather coherent one could say because it all flows perfectly. That’s the magic of the second release of this project by former Overmars-vocalist Marion Leclerq.

    Continue reading >

  • Confusion Master - Haunted

    26 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Psychedelic Doom, Sludge, Stoner Rock

    Sometimes we get promos and by looking at the combination of label and mentioned genre, of artist roots and band comparisons that this could be something right up one’s alley. To give you those cornerstones for this band: Exile On Mainstream – Doom – Punk – Ufomammut/Black Shape Of Nexus. And when you then realize that you saw that band a few years ago, then there is even a kind of need to write a review for their upcoming record, right? Therefore, this review must be about Confusion Master and their second record Haunted.

    Continue reading >

  • Witnesses - The Collapse

    25 Dec 2021 - Gene
    Doom, Metal, Prog, Alternative

    Shifting focus again, as fluid as the sands of time, Greg Schwann embraces the darkness of our times with aptly named The Collapse.

    Continue reading >

  • Aegos - The Great Burst Of Light

    24 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Post-Metal

    Post-Metal is, by definition or de facto, a form of metal that defies the boundaries of any other sub-genre and goes beyond categorization because it is an amalgam of different genres and thus steps above classical forms of metal like death metal or doom metal. Aegos from Texas released a debut album several months ago that unfortunately only caught our ears right now for it exemplifies the notion of post-metal to the t. Ladies and Gentlemen, behold The Great Burst Of Light.

    Continue reading >

  • Horns - Horns

    23 Dec 2021 - Gene
    Jazz, Big-Band, Avante-Garde, Covers

    Metal: now with balls and brass!

    Continue reading >

  • Ekca Liena - Skyward Vernacular (review and interview)

    22 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Ambient, Drone

    Source, Tags and Codes - and no this is not going to be a review trying to built connections between records that hold no connection. It’s just gonna use it to structure this review of Ekca Liena’s latest record. The second part of the text will be a short interview we did with Daniel Mackenzie, the mastermind behind the ambient project.

    Continue reading >

  • Mother - I & Interlude 1

    19 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Post-Blackgaze, Black Metal

    When we organized all our contributions for Consouling Sounds‘ live event at the beginning of October, they offered us an interview with a band from Ostend (right on the Belgian coast) and we were quite baffled because we had never heard of the band before. But after hearing the band Thorsten was just short of banging his head on the wall for the band is nothing short of terrific! They invented a term for their kind of music and usually those self-given terms are just another way of getting around calling your Amenra-clone “post-metal” even though that is what you really play. Mother play “Post-Blackgaze”

    Continue reading >

  • Treha Sektori - Rejet - Treha Sektori X Cross Bringer - Masked God

    18 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Post-Metal, Ambient, Tribal Ritual

    Okay, this is not going to be a review about one release only but about two – both involving Treha Sektori from Paris, France. Both somehow connected in all their ambiance, but at the same time also very different because of the participation of Russia’s Cross Bringer on one of them. May we present you: Masked God and Rejet.

    Continue reading >

  • Blankenberge - Everything

    18 Dec 2021 - Jonas
    Shoegaze/Dream pop

    Saint Petersburg. The second-largest city of Russia, and a veritable hot spot for quality -gaze music, be it blackgaze, dreamgaze, or straight-up shoegaze. Blankenberge, who recently released Everything, their third studio album since 2017, is one of them. But is it even possible to stand out in a genre many regards as stagnant, or even dead, without sounding like a tribute band of ages past?

    Continue reading >

  • Weedpecker - IV - The Stream Of Forgotten Thoughts

    16 Dec 2021 - Knut
    Stoner, Psychedelic Rock, Hard Rock

    In the last month of this bleak year comes Weedpecker from Warsaw, Poland, as a fresh cool breeze of memories of summers past with their multi-layered and anarchistic take on psychedelic stoner rock. It evokes the daze of the 60s when Blue Cheer came roaring out of the rehearsal studio, Jimi Hendrix set fire to his Fender on stage and Steppenwolf´s song line ”Heavy Metal Thunder” flew through the airwaves. But also nods to more modern desert rock bands like the Norwegian band We and Alabama Thunderpussy from the US.

    Continue reading >

  • Karin Park - Church Of Imagination

    16 Dec 2021 - Stephan
    Experimental Soul, Avantgarde Pop

    Let’s not beat around the bush here: It’s very likely that we - being the writers of Veil of Sound and you as the ones reading our nonsense - share a certain affinity to Pelagic Records. In regards of Karin Park this means, that most of us are probably on the same page: we’ve gotten to know her rather recently, first as the congenial partner of her husband Kjetil Nernes in Årabrot, then channeling her inner Lisa Gerrard in her collaboration with electronic musician Lustmord. But her almost twenty years long career as an adventurous pop artist? If you’re not living in Northern Europe and you have neither seen her supporting Lana Del Rey live nor are a musical nerd interested in all worldwide versions of Les Misérables, then it has probably completely passed you by. Time to catch up!

    Continue reading >

  • Fere - Visceral

    15 Dec 2021 - Simon
    alternative/rock/experimental

    Take a tour to the outer reaches of rock with the Portuguese collective Fere and their new brilliant album Visceral.

    Continue reading >

  • Modder - s/t

    14 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Psychedelic Post-Metal

    What makes a record heavy? The riffs? The tuning? The low-end rumbling? No – it‘s the pauses! Why? Because if everything is only dark without any light, without any rest – then everything will become a blur at one point. And with Modder‘s new self-titled record that becomes pretty obvious as they are really good at creating dark moments with the necessary pauses to highlight the strength and heaviness of the sounds around those small gaps of fresh air.

    Continue reading >

  • Golgotha - Eye Of The Beholder

    14 Dec 2021 - Pat O'
    Dark Synth

    Golgotha’s Eye Of The Beholder is both fascinating and disturbing. Relinquishing control to the dark side will bring you on the murkiest, nerve-racking journey imaginable. Dark synthesised atmospherics are the soundtrack to this never ending nightmare. Brace yourself!

    Continue reading >

  • Nathan Gray - Rebel Songs

    13 Dec 2021 - Sebastian
    Rock

    With over twenty years in the hardcore scene and many releases and influential albums under his belt, Nathan Gray now releases his third solo record and claims this is his most political album in the past years, maybe ever. With the “Iron Roses” he now has a whole band behind him and they set out to scream their message from the roofs.

    Continue reading >

  • Cultro - Phlegethon

    12 Dec 2021 - Knut
    Post-Metal, Atmospheric Sludge Metal, Avant-Garde Metal, Darkwave

    I really thought that when I reviewed the last release by Hemelbestormer and the last release by Five the Hierophant that those two albums would be both the heaviest and the most visionary albums I would review this year. But the year has not ended and Cultro comes thundering to the scene with Phlegethon. An album so remarkable and inventive that I just want to write “this is good, buy it and enjoy.” The music is so broad, deep and mighty that it goes far beyond their peers in Post or Atmospheric Metal.

    Continue reading >

Page 6 of 25