Latest Reviews

There are way too many records released every week - which one should you listen to? Why is the new Bruit the best record of the year? Which post-metal record is the dark-horse of the year? Questions that we want to answer - we review lots of records every week and you can also check out a little teaser before reading the whole thing. And if you want to, you can also browse through our archive and have a look at the amazing records you might have missed out on.

Page 4 of 26

  • Ultha - All That Has Never Been True

    02 Apr 2022 - Thorsten
    Atmospheric Black Metal

    Ultha, one of Germany’s most important black metal bands, released their new album All That Has Never Been True on this April 1st. No, this record is not in any way an April Fool’s prank. If you know the guys behind it, you know how important their music is to them. The new record is no exception to that as it finishes a not-preconceived trilogy and shows exactly why every black metal fan should love this band!

    Continue reading >

  • Lana_Del_Ray - Shotgun_Synesthesia

    01 Apr 2022 - Gene
    Indie-Pop, Post-Rock

    We are not the biggest purveyors of Pop here at Veil Of Sound. But when we caught wind that the sultana of sing herself, Lana Del Ray, was working on an album made up exclusively of Post-Rock covers, we could barely staunch the spittle. Obviously, we knew we had to sit down with her publicist, neighbor, dog or anyone we could get on the line, to learn all that we could.

    To our amazement, the diva herself deigned to answer our groveling request for an interview. And so, a few short international wires later, we present you, in her own words: Lana Del Ray: Shotgun Synesthesia.

    Lana sits down and begins nervously touching her face. Softly brushing away invisible lint, she begins to speak with eloquence and a charming sneer. Speaking in a disarming, wistful manner, wildly gyrating lips seem to chew her face as she dives, fairly unprompted into her passionate diatribe and does. Not. Stop.

    Continue reading >

  • Wander - Home

    30 Mar 2022 - Wouter
    Post-Rock

    The first explanation I can find for the term ‘emotional rollercoaster’ says the following: ‘a situation or experience that alternates between making you feel excited, exhilarated, or happy and making you feel sad, disappointed, or desperate’. I can shorten that substantially to simply “Listen to Home by Wander’. It sways, rocks, hits you when you least expect it and embraces you when you were preparing for emotional devastation. The beauty of Home lies in the unexpected so I recommend sitting down and just letting it wash over you. Preparing in any way is futile.

    Continue reading >

  • Morrow - The Quiet Earth

    29 Mar 2022 - Jonas
    Emo crust / Post-Metal

    It’s been a little over four years since the release of “Fallow”, Morrow’s sophomore album, but now they’re finally back with their third album, called “The Quiet Earth”, and the continuation of the post-apocalyptic sci-fi epic, spanning three bands and seven albums!

    Continue reading >

  • Sundowning - In the Light of Defeat, I Cease to Exist

    28 Mar 2022 - Jonas
    Doom Metal / Post-Metal

    A decade has passed since they released their last album, followed by an indefinite hiatus, but now Sundowning has returned from the other side, reinvigorated, with a truly fresh-sounding new album – “In the Light of Defeat, I Cease to Exist!”

    Continue reading >

  • thrown - Extended Pain

    27 Mar 2022 - Jonas
    Dark Hardcore

    Having only emerged from the void late last year, the Swedish hardcore supergroup, thrown, just released their debut EP, called “Extended Pain”! Proceed with caution though because this thing hits like a battering ram to the face – consider yourself warned.

    Continue reading >

  • Witnesses - IV

    26 Mar 2022 - Gene
    Cinematic, Orchestral, Ambient

    Witnesses continues to explore the emotional range of cinematic Post Rock with a particularly dialed-in chapter, which harnesses the composer’s previous outings, while taking new inspiration from the art of the film score to evoke a cinema-like experience worthy of the Silver Screen.

    Continue reading >

  • Light Beneath - Light Beneath

    25 Mar 2022 - Knut
    Atmospheric Sludge Metal/Post Metal

    From Tampere, Finland, comes a new bold band plowing themselves in between the giants of the Post Metal genre and does it with bravura, like a steam locomotive coming towards you breaking through whatever stands in its way. One might ask, does the world need another band like this? Oh yes - Light Beneath confirms this with their self-titled first release four years after the band’s inception.

    Continue reading >

  • Hangman's Chair - A Loner

    25 Mar 2022 - Daniel R.
    Doom, Sludge, Psychedelia

    Hangman’s Chair are from Crosne, a small hamlet near Paris, France. It’s not exactly known for its gloomy climate. The band though, have been producing their own brand of somewhat glum music since 2005 and with their new release, A Loner, that hasn’t changed and nor would I want then to when the music is this good.

    Continue reading >

  • Soonago - Fathom

    23 Mar 2022 - Simon
    post rock/post metal

    Soonago release their sophomore effort and in the process of writing the album have elevated themselves from the previous effort in almost every regard!

    Continue reading >

  • Ottone Pesante - ...And The Black Bells Rang

    22 Mar 2022 - Stephan
    Black Metal, Doom, Neo-Classical

    It’s a Friday in March, in a boat on the river Elbe. After yet another painfully long hiatus the first live performance of the year has just happened for me and oh boy, it was a blast! I’m chatting with the band members, as another excited new fan approaches the merch table and asks if their recordings are as good as the show. After they deny that, the guy doesn’t buy a a record but a t-shirt instead.

    Continue reading >

  • Falls of Rauros - Key To A Vanishing Future

    21 Mar 2022 - Knut
    Atmospheric Black Metal/Post Black Metal/

    Almost two decades since their inception the restless souls of Falls of Rauros release another album that further widens their musical scope. Restless meant as a positive trait as they never seem to care about trends or genres, but use their composition and musical skills to counter expectations and release another genre-defying album filled with crushing beauty.

    Continue reading >

  • Unru - Die Wiederkehr Des Verdrängten

    20 Mar 2022 - Thorsten
    Noisey Black Metal

    Jaw-dropping. Breathtaking. Spellbinding. That’s what happened when this author first listened to the new EP (they must be joking!) by Unru. Why? Well, because it will be the EP of the year, for sure. And it might end up being the recor of the year for many, including the author of these lines. Find out why Die Wiederkehr des Verdrängten is so good.

    Continue reading >

  • Konvent - Call Down the Sun

    19 Mar 2022 - Knut
    Doom Metal

    Two years after their impressive debut release, the Danes of Konvent are back with their sophomore album. They have honed their doom skills and now grace the world with an aggressive, heavy, expansive and awe-inspiring new album fitting the times we have lived through and are living in. They give comfort, reflection and inspiration with their crushing and modern take on the genre. As the pandemic fades away, the sky should be clear for everyone this spring, but sadly it is not. And this album, intentional or not, is a reminder of this.

    Continue reading >

  • Hot Water Music - Feel The Void

    18 Mar 2022 - Thorsten
    Emo-Rock

    Can a record that you love from the first moment onward, still be a “grower”? Well in some strange way, the new Hot Water Music full-length Feel The Void surely feels like one. It transports you right back to the start of the new millennium and the holy trinity of HWM records of No Division, A Flight And A Crash and Caution but at the same time, there are tiny moments when one sees that this is a new beginning. And a good one, on top.

    Continue reading >

  • Ghost Toast - Shade Without Color

    17 Mar 2022 - Daniel F.
    Progressive Metal

    When prog rockers Ghost Toast released Shape Without Form back in 2020 I couldn’t get enough of it. We were just entering a pandemic, the world was gradually manifesting itself into a shitstorm of unprecedented proportions and yet this crazy trio of musicians from the Hungarian wilderness put out a record that would become something of a comfort blanket through trying times. With that in mind, I’m sure you can imagine my excitement when I saw the announcement for Shade Without Color, a record that has since proven itself to be a worthy follow up.

    Continue reading >

  • Yīn Yīn - The Age Of Aquarius

    16 Mar 2022 - Stephan
    Thai-Beat

    Life is short and there’s a sprawling abundance of interesting new music out there in the world. Following this fact there’s a natural agreement among the Veil of Sound staff that we only write about stuff we are genuinely invested in. Because who has time for scathing reviews and unneccessary negativity, when you could spread the word about something worthwhile instead? That being said, I must admit that even given the hypothetical case that the new album by Yīn Yīn sucked big time, I would probably still be tempted to sneak in this critique - just for the rare opportunity of possibly using some darn under-represented terms like “disco”, “Santa Esmeralda” or “Thai-beat”.

    Continue reading >

  • Wiegedood - There’s Always Blood At The End Of The Road

    15 Mar 2022 - Ajay
    Black Metal

    It has been four years between Church of Ra-alumni Wiegedood’s Century Media label debut De Doden Hebben Het Goed III and the follow-up There’s Always Blood At The End Of The Road. With the De Doden Hebben Het Goed (trans.: “The Dead Are Doing Well”, or “The Dead Have It Good”) trilogy behind them, there is a noticeably different approach with album number 4.

    Continue reading >

  • Eight Bells - Legacy of Ruin

    14 Mar 2022 - Thorsten
    Doom, Prog-Metal

    Eight Bells from Portland lead the listener a little astray with their hobbit-like cover for their latest full-length Legacy of Ruin. The band’s third full-length is another marker set in stone for what modern progressive metal can be when thinking it more in the vein of Opeth and less Dream Theater. Mood over techniques!

    Continue reading >

  • El Ten Eleven - New Year's Eve

    13 Mar 2022 - Skyler
    post-rock

    El Ten Eleven arrives with another fantastic album

    Continue reading >

  • Ceremonial Castings - Our Journey Through Forever

    12 Mar 2022 - Thorsten
    Black Metal

    This record could be used by my alter ego, aka in real life, for both of the subjects I teach – History and English. And no, it is not as dreadful as the combination might sound, because Ceremonial Castings from Massachusetts serve a re-worked collection of songs from their vast discography. A kind of “Best Of” but with the songs having been re-visited, re-written and re-recorded!

    Continue reading >

  • E-L-R - Vexier

    11 Mar 2022 - Daniel R.
    Post-Metal, Shoegaze, Doom

    E-L-R haven’t been around for long in the grand scheme of things, forming in 2016, with their first release being in 2018, but despite their relatively short time releasing music, this does not show in the slightest.

    Continue reading >

  • MoE - The Crone

    10 Mar 2022 - Knut
    No Wave/Punk/Avant-Garde Sludge/Noise/Blue Metal

    The heavy bass riffs hit you in the chest, the charged sparkling virtuosity of the guitar soars through the venue and the unbelievable range of Moe´s vocal hits your eardrums when you attend a gig with the duo MoE on stage. Is it possible to convert the passion and intensity from the stage into a 42 minutes album? Yes, it is when you are MoE. A clear-cut production rises out of the chaos they make. It is not without reason that an exhibition dedicated to these musicians at the music museum Rockheim in Norway is called We Who Loved Chaos.

    Continue reading >

  • Oh Hiroshima - Myriad

    09 Mar 2022 - Simon
    Post rock

    The new album by Oh Hiroshima delivers everything you could wish for in a post rock album with a magnificently dense and intelligent piece of music

    Continue reading >

  • The Glass Pavilion - When The Blazing Sun Is Gone

    08 Mar 2022 - Daniel F.
    Post Rock

    One of the hardest things to write in music is ambience. To build a real sense of atmosphere with minimal instrumentation is something of a dark art and one that Ashley Owens has gone some way towards mastering with The Glass Pavilion, his brand spanking new one man project. Since it was released back in January I have been thoroughly engaged with his debut release When The Blazing Sun Is Gone, hooked on its copious dose of serene melody as well as that aforementioned atmosphere. It’s a calming passage of post rock that holds a firm grip on the unsuspecting listener, sucking us in like a cathartic lullaby.

    Continue reading >

Page 4 of 26