Latest Reviews

There are way too many records released every week - which one should you listen to? We want to help you by reviewing lots of records every week and you can also check out a little teaser before reading the whole thing. And if you want to, you can also browse through our archive and have a look at the amazing records you might have missed out on.

Page 2 of 32

  • Tchornobog /Abyssal - Split

    02 Dec 2022 - Thorsten
    Avantgarde Death Metal

    Sometimes a quick description is simply the best, right? Okay: If a record begins with a song called “The Vomiting Choir“ and this songs again starts with the overlapping sounds of several vomiting “sessions”, then you’d better not expect dreampop, right? But if there are more than 20 minutes following this initiation point, then one should also not expect pure 20 minutes of metal massacre of the steady blastbeat-kind. And lastly, if that track is released by any Markov Soroka-project, then it’s surely clear that we are gonna get quite a thrill-ride!

    Continue reading >

  • Zwischenlichten - Dämmerschwellen

    01 Dec 2022 - Thorsten
    Neofolk

    A new sparkling star can be found adorning the firmament stretched out by German Dark Folk or Neofolk and that star is Zwischenlichten, and the gloom illuminating their ascend is their debut full-length Dämmerschwellen. If acoustic guitars are not your thing, please pass along. But if you like seminal records initiating a round dance in the shadows of the cabin deep in the forest behind the village – then this record will be the candle to your autumn and winter flames.

    Continue reading >

  • Gavran - Indistinct Beacon

    30 Nov 2022 - Knut
    Sludge Metal/Atmospheric Doom Metal

    2020, March 20: the Dutch trio Gavran releases their debut album Still Unavailing and then - the world closed. And there seems, unfairly, not to be much coverage of the album. It must have been very frustrating, it could have made anyone just leave and forget about making music. But this release shows that Gavran impressively never gave up as the band releases a new monolithic, heavy album that will give you shivers. In a good way.

    Continue reading >

  • FJØRT - Nichts

    29 Nov 2022 - Thorsten
    Post-Hardcore, Indie-Rock, "The Wave"

    Anybody who really knows me, has heard me lamenting over the fact that I still did not get my first tattoo. But connected to that is the usual question what it should be? A symbol for the insiders? A picture of my family? A drawing of a personally important building? Or a quote? No, nobody should get a quote, because what about discovering whether the person quoted will always remain a hero in one‘s own eyes. Nevertheless, if I ever had a quote engraved on my body in black I know for damn sure, which line it has to be: Ich hab’ 1933 Gründe, schwarz zu sehen! by German Post-Hardcore band Fjørt. And now the trio got a new record out! Excited!

    Continue reading >

  • Isafjørd - Hjartastjaki

    28 Nov 2022 - Knut
    Post Rock

    Iceland. Music. Mention those two words and many ears prick up whether it is floating Ambient, Art Pop, Indie or any form of Metal. And Post Rock, of course. It is amazing how much impact the music from this country with about 370K inhabitants has gained through the years. And here is a new one: Isafjørd release an album filled with Post Rock songs where each song has the ability to give you an earworm for days.

    Continue reading >

  • Nostromo - Bucephale

    27 Nov 2022 - Thorsten
    Hardcore, Metalcore

    Is it a bad thing if the best tracks of an album are the ones with contributions from other artists? Probably depends on several things: how much better are these tracks, who is the collaborato or on the overall quality of the album. In the case of Nostromo and their new album Bucephale we must assess that the overall quality is high, the collaborators are mind-blowing and therefore these two tracks simply play in a class of their own – like SuperLeague compared to ChampionsLeague, ay?

    Continue reading >

  • Schneider Collaborations - Schneider ...

    26 Nov 2022 - Stephan
    Jazz, Noise, Experimental, Ambient

    If the entirety of music is a vast cathedral, then I often find myself drawn to the candlelight of its obscure cult niches. One of those places of worship particularly dear to my heart lies at the point where the arches of Jazz, Metal and Noise experimentation meet. So with the first of the four Advent Sundays approaching, let me invite you there with not a single, nor a double, but a quadruple review! The festively golden thread - or your personal Santa Chaos for this holiday season - is a German guy with the common-or-garden name Jörg Schneider.

    Continue reading >

  • Euphrosyne - Keres

    26 Nov 2022 - Knut
    Atmospheric Black Metal, Ethereal Black Metal, Post-Black Metal

    It is always exciting to go treasure hunting in our site´s promo inbox. The thrill of opening a new chest full of sparkling diamonds. And the delight of finding one with gems that glimmer and sparkle, resting on layers of black velvet like this debut release from Euphrosyne. It is pure relish. They call it an EP, but that´s an understatement. They describe themselves as Post Black Metal and that´s also an understatement.

    Continue reading >

  • The Callous Daoboys - Celebrity Therapist

    24 Nov 2022 - Brayden
    Metalcore, Hardcore

    It is no secret that Metalcore has been struggling as of late. At first, the Iron Maiden Melo-Death At the Gates worship crossed with Hardcore breakdowns bands were fun and interesting (ahem Killswitch Engage, Shai Hulud and Misery Signals ahem) but many will agree when I say this: the sound has gotten very old, it is somewhat tired and the dead horse has been beaten so fiercely I’m not sure lyrics from a Carcass song could describe it. Corporate mongers have robbed us of the youthful spirit and angst of Metalcore and replaced them with unrewarding choruses, lazy breakdowns and several other formulaic bastardizations that boil the genre down into a cliche. If you miss the old genre, the ‘straight from the go’-genre, look no further than the Callous Daoboys (a play on the Dallas Cowboys) on their newest LP Celebrity Therapist.

    Continue reading >

  • Feed Me To The Waves - Apart

    23 Nov 2022 - Sebastian
    Post-Rock

    Post-Rock is one of the broadest musical genres out there. It can range from haunting and creepy over electronic ecstasy all the way to dreamy soundscapes. Feed me to the Waves are surely over on the dreamy side of the spectrum. Their newest work Apart is out since last week and it is time for me to take a dive into the waves.

    Continue reading >

  • Black Space Riders - We Have Been Here Before

    21 Nov 2022 - Thorsten
    Progressive Psych-Rock

    How good can a band become over the course of their career? How much better? Is it at all possible for a band to improve over let’s say 15 years? Most of us often consider our first contact with a band to be ‘their best ever’, just think of the discussions over LOA’s first two records. Well, Münster, Germany’s Black Space Riders have just shown that a band can get better and more diverse over time. Need proof? Listen to “We Have Been Here Before”!

    Continue reading >

  • Gospelheim - Ritual & Repetition

    17 Nov 2022 - Thorsten
    Dark New-Wave, Blackened Gothic Rock

    When a band is called Gospelheim one can either expect a strange, rhythm-less German Gospel choir or some kind of run-of-the-mill Nordic Black Metal combo. But there is a band from Manchester, UK, which is neither, that likes to play with expectations and goes its own path. A highly intriguing and seductive one, might be added.

    Continue reading >

  • drowse - Wane Into It

    16 Nov 2022 - Dan D.
    Shoegaze, Indie, Ambient, The Flenser

    I’ve been a long-time follower of San Francisco based record label The Flenser. They release some of the most interesting and emotive music around. Be it experimental black metal in the form of Bosse-de-Nage and The Botanist, Chat Pile’s caustic noise rock or the sensational synth stylings of Black Wing - they never disappoint. Anyone familiar with the label will also know that they have a very strong roster of artists with shoegaze and slowcore sensibilities. Planning for Burial and Midwife have released some of my most listened to albums over the past few years and for good reason. They freaking rule! Another artist of a similar ilk who has massively impressed me is Kyle Bates, aka drowse. Cold Air and Light Mirror both left a lasting impression, so I was chomping at the bit to hear the new album, Wane into You.

    Continue reading >

  • Huracán - We Are Very Happy

    15 Nov 2022 - Simon
    Metal

    Huracán unleash an album of restless propulsion which sweeps you up in its grandeur!

    Continue reading >

  • Behind Closed Doors - Caged in Helics

    14 Nov 2022 - Thorsten
    Instrumental Post-Metal, Metalcore

    Writing reviews is somewhat of the ultimate nerd thing – you (normally) do not get paid, will hardly ever hear real feedback, speak somewhat into the void and very often talk about stuff that 99% of the now 8,000,000,000 people on this earth will gladly not care about. The upside? It can be a lot of fun. As with listening to Behind Closed Doors‘ debut

    Continue reading >

  • ef - We Salute You, You and You!

    11 Nov 2022 - Thorsten
    Cinematic Post-Rock

    The grandmasters are back. ef from Sweden give the people what the people need – and in these times of need and uncertainty, fear and disenfranchisement, loss and neglect there might be nothing more important than art which soothes our uneasy cores. ef are back and they are here for us.

    Continue reading >

  • Worm - Bluenothing

    10 Nov 2022 - Thorsten
    Progressive Doomy Floridian Death Metal

    Sometimes it takes a record to show up connections between genres. Maybe those links existed before but went unnoticed – and then this one record is published and exemplifies these bridges one had not heard before. WORM’s latest ‘EP’ titled Bluenothing is able to do just that – exemplify the connections between Funeral Doom and Prog Rock.

    Continue reading >

  • Marc Urselli's - SteppenDoom

    08 Nov 2022 - Stephan
    Doom Metal, throat singing ("Indigenous Doom")

    Many years in the making and stuffed with an almost ridiculous all-star array of global doom metal royalty and renowned throat singing masters, Marc Urselli’s passion project SteppenDoom - aptly dubbed “indigenous doom” - exceeds all expectations arising from this premise and achieves nothing short of unearthing the very primal essence of doom itself in an unexpected place.

    Continue reading >

  • ColdWorld - Isolation

    07 Nov 2022 - Thorsten
    DSBM, Atmospheric Black Metal

    Whenever people talk about elegance in metal they mostly refer to Gothic or Doom Metal, but tend to forget Black Metal. Okay, DSBM or Atmospheric Black Metal to be precise. A genre that combines some of the qualities of the former three genres. If you want to experience what I mean with that, then listen to Isolation, the third full-length by Leipzig, Germany-based project ColdWorld.

    Continue reading >

  • The Bobby Lees - Bellevue

    06 Nov 2022 - Thorsten
    Noise-Rock, Soul, Hardcore Punk

    Raising kids can be a challenge, right? Especially difficult for us music nerds is that moment when our music is not automatically the stuff they want to listen to. At the moment one of the fave acts of my daughter is called Little Mix and this week’s fave track is called ”No” - don’t ask about my opinion about it. But today was a wonderful day because I set a melody into her head and she can’t get it out again - ”Monkey Mind” by The Bobby Lees. Wonderful!

    Continue reading >

  • Carved into the Sun - The Earth Fell Away

    05 Nov 2022 - Thorsten
    Post-Rock

    Grief. One of the strongest feelings together with love and anger it can take control over your whole body and mind by simply fading out everything else. People get lost in their grief and some even go a few steps further amid this feeling of being an empty shell without any glimmer of hope. Others seek help and healing through whichever form is most adequate for them, some of them turning to art. Eric Reifinger did the latter and the result is an uplifting catharsis.

    Continue reading >

  • Codespeaker - s/t

    04 Nov 2022 - Thorsten
    Post-Metal

    So, let‘s break one of the simplest rules for writing reviews: Do not write a review because of one listening session. But hey, sometimes rules are only there to be broken, right? Which album forced me to? Codespeaker’s self-titled debut, which was released on Friday, reached me yesterday and convinced me so much today that I have to pen this down. Why so? ISIS.

    Continue reading >

  • Envy - Seimei

    03 Nov 2022 - Knut
    Atmospheric Sludge Metal/Post Hardcore/Post Metal

    1992 in Tokyo: Young musicians form a Hardcore Punk band they call Blind Justice. In 1995 they change the band´s name to Envy. In 2022 they release an EP which merges the intense majestic crescendos and the passionate urgency they have become known for. An eleven minutes masterpiece of intense and soul-crushing atmospheric metal. They combine the release with an European tour where the performances are as vital and vivid as any young band out there. This review is written in the glimmering afterglow of such a performance.

    Continue reading >

  • indignu - adeus

    02 Nov 2022 - Knut
    Post Rock

    Is this a goodbye from the band as the title indicates? Surely, it cannot be! Not from a band who four years after their last album shows that they yet again are on top of their visionary creativity. This new release takes the listener from gently ethereal sonics to thunderous passionate crescendos. It feels more like a musical contemplation of the separations we all have had to endure these past two years and the farewells we have had to say, and how all this has affected us.

    Continue reading >

  • Archers of Loaf - Reason in Decline

    31 Oct 2022 - Thorsten
    Indie-Core

    There are so many great bands making a comeback in 2022 and one must-listen is: Archers of Loaf. “Archers of…. Who?” some European folks might ask irritate. “Archers of Loaf!” many Americans might scream out in response! Reason in Decline, the new Archers-album, is a picture perfect example of how a band can come back after 15 years and still remain relevant! How that came to happen – well, let’s find out!</i>

    Continue reading >

Page 2 of 32