Latest Reviews

There are way too many records released every week - which one should you listen to? We want to help you by reviewing lots of records every week and you can also check out a little teaser before reading the whole thing. And if you want to, you can also browse through our archive and have a look at the amazing records you might have missed out on.

Page 12 of 31

  • King Bastard - It Came From The Void

    13 Jan 2022 - Thorsten
    Psychedelic Doom

    King Bastard might be one of the strangest names I have heard in a long time, because if there is one thing that history taught us over the centuries, it’s that bastards (normally) don’t become kings. So the name in itself is a paradox which will make you think – even though that is exactly the thing the band from the State of New York do not necessarily want you to do. It’s more about the emotions and how to influence them on their debut full-length It Came From The Void.

    Continue reading >

  • MØL - Diorama

    12 Jan 2022 - Thorsten
    Blackened New-Wave

    ”Make Black Metal Beautiful (again)” - that might have been what Danish blackened hardcore – torchbearers MØL might have thought when they recorded their latest album ”Diorama”. On the one hand that is a blessing and on the other it is a basis for discussions.

    Continue reading >

  • Sons Of Alpha Centauri - Push

    11 Jan 2022 - Thorsten
    Post-Hardcore

    3.30am at night. On a Wednesday. With less than three hours of sleep left. After usually only having had 2,5 hours before. Nevertheless, if you woke me at that moment, played “Mother Mary“ or “#1 Defender”, “Roosevelt Champion III“ or “Crush On Everyone“ and asked what the connection was – I would probably already be up and banging to those four tunes and then shout the answer: “JONAH!!!” With the release of the latest record by Sons of Alpha Centauri, I could add another few songs, because the band based in Southern England released a wonderful record on the brink of post-metal and post-hardcore featuring the vocals of none other than emo-/post-hardcore legend Jonah Matranga!

    Continue reading >

  • Fit For An Autopsy - Oh What The Future Holds

    10 Jan 2022 - Daniel F.
    Deathcore

    The biggest compliment that I can give the new Fit For An Autopsy album is that it sounds exactly how I expected (and wanted) it to. They are just one of those bands, a rare breed of deathcore outfit that go beyond simply relying on a cacophony of heavy breakdowns to build concise, curated soundscapes that linger and dwell in our psyche. I could count on one hand the list of bands that sound as well-rounded within the genre, and the New Jersey sextet would be scrambling for pole position on that list. 2019 saw them unleash the bone-shaking The Sea Of Tragic Beasts – the vinyl for which sits proudly and elegantly on my shelf – and was the perfect addition to an already prolific repertoire. 2022 sees them reload and set their sights set on exploding back into the limelight with their latest full length, Oh What The Future Holds.

    Continue reading >

  • Glassing - Twin Dream

    09 Jan 2022 - Thorsten
    Blackened Post-Hardcore

    There are some releases which are never growing old on the ear – Glassing’s last full-length Spotted Horse was exactly such a release and thus the sheer joy is immeasurable when listening to their new full-length which delivers more than expected because it is exactly what one wanted – and more. Much more.

    Continue reading >

  • ABANDONS - Live at Mutiny Information Cafe

    08 Jan 2022 - Simon
    cinematic post-rock Post-metal

    Denver based newcomers ABANDONS release their first album as a live experience. It’s quite a bold move but one which they ultimately manage to make work rather successfully

    Continue reading >

  • OAR - The Blood You Crave

    07 Jan 2022 - Knut
    Post Black Metal

    In 2017, the Australian band OAR released their first EP which even with a lo-fi approach was very promising. At the start of 2022, they live up to that promise releasing a remarkable first full-length album which gives a riveting listen with mighty soundscapes complementing the snarling and screaming vocals throughout the album. Add the stunning cover art by Osaki, with a motif from the spectacular Norwegian rock formation Trolltunga (“Troll´s Tongue”) stretching out 700 meters over a lake - it perfectly describes the music´s vastness.

    Continue reading >

  • Ustalost - Before The Glinting Spell Unvests

    05 Jan 2022 - Thorsten
    Psychedelic Black Metal

    Black Metal seems to have become THE most fertile ground for one-man-projects over the last couple of decades and of the reasons for that might be the possibility of hiding yourself and your ideas behind a curtain of lo-fi mush then called “raw black metal” in order to conceal any songwriting flaws or inabilities. Welcome to the complete opposite – Ustalost! Their newest record might be one of the most unique things in black metal that you will hear all year!

    Continue reading >

  • Misanthur - Ephemeris

    04 Jan 2022 - Thorsten
    Post-Black-Metal, Avantgarde

    Częstochowa is Southern Poland‘ s Silesia-region is famous worldwide for the icon of a Black Madonna in a nearby monastery which is centripetal point of many legends – my favorite one is the legend of a soldier who struck the icon twice with a sword and who then was struck by lightning! Many people know about the Black Madonna? Yes, but do many metal fans know about it? Maybe more than one thinks, but from now on, they should know the city as the origin of a pretty promising metal band called Misanthur!

    Continue reading >

  • Maudits - Angle Mort

    03 Jan 2022 - Ben
    Ambient, Post-Rock, Post-Metal

    Paris’s accursed Maudits have released their second record – an EP of five songs – two brand new tracks and three reworked versions of earlier material - after the departure of their bassist. Diving deeper than their previous release, Angle Mort sees the band bring greater eloquence to their sound.

    Continue reading >

  • Dakhma - Blessings Of Amurdad

    02 Jan 2022 - Thorsten
    Zoroastrian Black Metal

    Dakhma is one of the myriads of projects rooted in the Helvetic Underground Committee which we already featured heavily here on VoS. Although each of these projects has its signature sound or signature story-line there is none as unique as Dakhma with its singular blend of sounds from the Middle East and the Zoroastrian background of their black metal thunders! Their new full-length Blessings Of Amurdad is yet another proof for that!

    Continue reading >

  • Dead Neanderthals & Aaron Turner - Corporeal Flux

    01 Jan 2022 - Stephan
    Noise-Rock, Avantgarde, Sludge

    With advancing age and the repeated experience that the reset from month twelve to one so far has never activated some magic switch which would suddenly change the trajectory of humanity to the better, one could very well argue that the celebration of New Year’s Eve is a rather hollow affair. But luckily for everyone who’s feeling that way there are some beloved traditions which still keep justifying the festivities. Like Dead Neanderthals releasing a sick digital EP exactly one day before the end of every year.

    Continue reading >

  • Ripcord Records Compilation - You Matter

    31 Dec 2021 - Knut
    Black Metal, Blackgaze, Post Black Metal, Doom Metal, Post Metal, Progressive Metal, Sludge Metal, Trash Metal

    What a great compilation Ripcord Records has released! With the help of 101 bands the label has put together this compilation to raise money for the charity organization Papyrus in the UK, which helps young people struggling with suicidal thoughts. You get a lot through this compilation, not only to contribute to the good cause, but you will also discover many new bands and new music. Twelve hours and 17 minutes of great metal-related music is a good way to end the year and start fresh into the new year.

    Continue reading >

  • The Answer Lies In The Black Void - Forlorn

    30 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Doom

    The Gathering, for many people, are the first thing that comes to mind when being asked about a (Dutch) doom band with female lead vocals. Now we might have another one with the next enchanting 2021 release by Jason Köhnen, who once proves to be a wizard of many trades as he and his partner Martina Horváth release another collaboration – this time under the telling moniker The Answer Lies In The Black Void.

    Continue reading >

  • Papangu - Holoceno

    28 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Progressive Sludge Metal

    I honestly hate it when things like the following happen. I literally hate it and I will also later one tell you why. One of my most hated “events” is when at the end of the year someone claims to have found that one record from that year that we should all listen to because it is the record of the year - and I have never heard about the record or the band. Being curious me I have to check it out and now comes that “hate” moment – the person on social media was right! Maybe this is not THE album of 2021, but shit, it’s really, really good because it stills my eclectic mindset like only a few have done in 2021. And we here at VoS urgently need someone from South America to prevent us from not listening to records like Papangu’s amazing Holoceno! Urgently!!

    Continue reading >

  • Mütterlein - Bring Down The Flags

    27 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Ambient Noise Metal

    Mütterlein sounds a bit like “Lingua Ignota in metal” while she is having a musical flirt with Burial Hex and both are listening to some krauty psychedelia from the early 70s. Confusing? Not at all. Rather coherent one could say because it all flows perfectly. That’s the magic of the second release of this project by former Overmars-vocalist Marion Leclerq.

    Continue reading >

  • Confusion Master - Haunted

    26 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Psychedelic Doom, Sludge, Stoner Rock

    Sometimes we get promos and by looking at the combination of label and mentioned genre, of artist roots and band comparisons that this could be something right up one’s alley. To give you those cornerstones for this band: Exile On Mainstream – Doom – Punk – Ufomammut/Black Shape Of Nexus. And when you then realize that you saw that band a few years ago, then there is even a kind of need to write a review for their upcoming record, right? Therefore, this review must be about Confusion Master and their second record Haunted.

    Continue reading >

  • Witnesses - The Collapse

    25 Dec 2021 - Gene
    Doom, Metal, Prog, Alternative

    Shifting focus again, as fluid as the sands of time, Greg Schwann embraces the darkness of our times with aptly named The Collapse.

    Continue reading >

  • Aegos - The Great Burst Of Light

    24 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Post-Metal

    Post-Metal is, by definition or de facto, a form of metal that defies the boundaries of any other sub-genre and goes beyond categorization because it is an amalgam of different genres and thus steps above classical forms of metal like death metal or doom metal. Aegos from Texas released a debut album several months ago that unfortunately only caught our ears right now for it exemplifies the notion of post-metal to the t. Ladies and Gentlemen, behold The Great Burst Of Light.

    Continue reading >

  • Horns - Horns

    23 Dec 2021 - Gene
    Jazz, Big-Band, Avante-Garde, Covers

    Metal: now with balls and brass!

    Continue reading >

  • Ekca Liena - Skyward Vernacular (review and interview)

    22 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Ambient, Drone

    Source, Tags and Codes - and no this is not going to be a review trying to built connections between records that hold no connection. It’s just gonna use it to structure this review of Ekca Liena’s latest record. The second part of the text will be a short interview we did with Daniel Mackenzie, the mastermind behind the ambient project.

    Continue reading >

  • Mother - I & Interlude 1

    19 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Post-Blackgaze, Black Metal

    When we organized all our contributions for Consouling Sounds‘ live event at the beginning of October, they offered us an interview with a band from Ostend (right on the Belgian coast) and we were quite baffled because we had never heard of the band before. But after hearing the band Thorsten was just short of banging his head on the wall for the band is nothing short of terrific! They invented a term for their kind of music and usually those self-given terms are just another way of getting around calling your Amenra-clone “post-metal” even though that is what you really play. Mother play “Post-Blackgaze”

    Continue reading >

  • Treha Sektori - Rejet - Treha Sektori X Cross Bringer - Masked God

    18 Dec 2021 - Thorsten
    Post-Metal, Ambient, Tribal Ritual

    Okay, this is not going to be a review about one release only but about two – both involving Treha Sektori from Paris, France. Both somehow connected in all their ambiance, but at the same time also very different because of the participation of Russia’s Cross Bringer on one of them. May we present you: Masked God and Rejet.

    Continue reading >

  • Blankenberge - Everything

    18 Dec 2021 - Jonas
    Shoegaze/Dream pop

    Saint Petersburg. The second-largest city of Russia, and a veritable hot spot for quality -gaze music, be it blackgaze, dreamgaze, or straight-up shoegaze. Blankenberge, who recently released Everything, their third studio album since 2017, is one of them. But is it even possible to stand out in a genre many regards as stagnant, or even dead, without sounding like a tribute band of ages past?

    Continue reading >

  • Weedpecker - IV - The Stream Of Forgotten Thoughts

    16 Dec 2021 - Knut
    Stoner, Psychedelic Rock, Hard Rock

    In the last month of this bleak year comes Weedpecker from Warsaw, Poland, as a fresh cool breeze of memories of summers past with their multi-layered and anarchistic take on psychedelic stoner rock. It evokes the daze of the 60s when Blue Cheer came roaring out of the rehearsal studio, Jimi Hendrix set fire to his Fender on stage and Steppenwolf´s song line ”Heavy Metal Thunder” flew through the airwaves. But also nods to more modern desert rock bands like the Norwegian band We and Alabama Thunderpussy from the US.

    Continue reading >

Page 12 of 31