Latest Reviews

There are way too many records released every week - which one should you listen to? We want to help you by reviewing lots of records every week and you can also check out a little teaser before reading the whole thing. And if you want to, you can also browse through our archive and have a look at the amazing records you might have missed out on.

Page 10 of 31

  • Pylar - Abysmos

    03 Mar 2022 - Thorsten
    Avantgarde, Drone Metal

    It seems to be a kind of trend at the moment – anonymous collectives. Non Serviam from France, Koldovstvo and Sleepwalker from wherever and now we got (once again) Pylar. The other trend accompanying these bands is the consistent quality of their releases. Each of their latest full-lengths received the highest praise from us here at VoS and, truth be told, Pylar will, too!

    Continue reading >

  • Blood Incantation - Timewave Zero

    02 Mar 2022 - Stephan
    Krautrock, Ambient

    Guess the album’s genre by its instruments: Acoustic guitar, Alesis Quadraverb, Alesis Quadraverb II, Behringer Poly D, Crumar Orchestration, DOD 680, EHX Pog, Eventide Space, gongs and bowed cymbals, Hammond organ, Korg Minilogue, Korg XSD, Maestro Echoplex EP-3, MG-1 and MF Delay, Moog Grandmother and MF Delay, , Moog Micromoog and MF Delay, Moog Prodigy, Roland JP 8000, Roland RE-201 Space Echo, Roland RE-301 Chorus Echo and Boss RE-20 Space Echo, Roland TR-8S & RE-201 Space Echo, Sequential Circuits Six-Trak, Tambura, Visual Sound Dual Tap Delay and of course last but not least the Yamaha CS1X. Ha, gotcha! It’s not an album - it’s a space ship.

    Continue reading >

  • Subterfuge - Dots.

    01 Mar 2022 - Thorsten
    Indie-Pop

    I confess that the following review will be a nostalgic trip into German indie fields around the millennium with references to some bands that many people probably won’t know which doesn’t necessarily mean these acts are less interesting – only problem: They are/were German. Subterfuge was/is a German band. Their music wasn’t/isn’t. Glad they gave us this new record.

    Continue reading >

  • We Were Heading North - Three

    28 Feb 2022 - Knut
    Post Rock

    True to their musical roots in Post Rock, We Were Heading North releases their third album, which is as engaging and inspiring as their previous. With arresting and soaring melodies throughout the album delivered by guitars, bass and drums, the band has given us yet another amazing album. Post Rock is a demanding genre to master, mere good equipment is not enough, the music has to convey passion and emotions to the listeners. And this band knows how to do this both on albums and on stage.

    Continue reading >

  • Bambara - Love on My Mind

    28 Feb 2022 - Ben
    Rock / Post Punk

    Brooklyn’s post-punk three-piece get personal with this six-track EP of off-kilter stories viewed through a camera lens. Each tale is woven from spacious, dark instrumentation, the minutiae of feelings and interactions, and Reid Bateh’s rich growl.

    Continue reading >

  • Arne Heesch - Demons Are Scared

    27 Feb 2022 - Thorsten
    Folk, Doom

    “Ulme“is the German word for the elm tree. In antiquity, the elms were a sign of sadness and death. For all of you, familiar with the German music scene of the 90s and late 00s, Ulme is something different: One of the best noise rock bands to ever come out of Germany, with a strong, but never overpowering, heavy sound and some really fantastic vocals. Ulme’s mastermind has now released a solo-semi-acoustic record and one thing becomes clear: The vocals make all his bands distinctively unique. Arne Heesch has shown once again how important good songwriting is with Demons Are Scared.

    Continue reading >

  • BUÑUEL - Killers Like Us

    26 Feb 2022 - Thorsten
    Noise, Industrial, Post-Punk

    Buñuel are a super-group, but are they a super group? Okay, let’s just stop with this all-too-fancy-approach right there. Buñuel is a group of musicians with strong musical backgrounds and lots of experience – so in that sense they are a super-group just like Them Crooked Vultures. But they are also a no-nonsense-straight-forward beast of a rock band and in that sense Buñuel is surely a super group. If you need proof listen to their new record Killers Like Us!

    Continue reading >

  • Foreign Hands - Bleed the Dream

    25 Feb 2022 - Sebastian
    Metalcore

    Last week multiple bands and people posted about this album in their status, thus I felt the need to check it out and OH DAMN! This new EP by Foreign Hands is just one of the best metalcore releases in ages.

    Continue reading >

  • Seigo Aoyama - Prelude For The Spring

    24 Feb 2022 - Skyler
    Ambient

    Seigo releases a lush soundscape, ready to be explored

    Continue reading >

  • Kajgūn - Daogoad

    23 Feb 2022 - Gene
    Jazz, World, Metal, Psychedelic, Experimental, Fusion

    If you’re at all like me, then too many times has psychedelic music caught your imagination, but ultimately, in so many cases, failed to hold your serious attention. Not so with this release! The Hungarian collective Kajgūn serves a sort of heavy, freewheeling psychedelia, underlined by an entirely improvised set and garnished with an approach in equal measure avante-garde metal and jazz-world-fusion. As to categorization, I catch myself broadly refering (if we must) back to prog-fusion, but in painting it broad, we must hone in on what makes this record special. As it turns out, that’s quite a lot.

    Continue reading >

  • Mountaineer - Giving Up The Ghost

    22 Feb 2022 - Thorsten
    Post-Metal/Post-Rock/Shoegaze/Dark Metal

    Mountaineer are back with a new record! Two years after Bloodletting, the band from the Bay Area releases its fourth full-length through Lifeforce Records, the German label which has already release their three previous records. The new record Giving Up The Ghost is a little different from its predecessors, but let’s be clear – they remain epic and hymnal and this time a little bit more playful and light.

    Continue reading >

  • Abraham - Debris de Mondes Perdus

    21 Feb 2022 - Simon
    post hardcore post metal sludge metal

    How do you follow up an album about the end of the world? You imagine a letter sent back hundreds of years lamenting the sickness which lead to the disaster in the first place, it’s bleak, dark and glorious.

    Continue reading >

  • And So I Watch You From Afar - Jettison

    20 Feb 2022 - Wouter
    Post-Rock , Alternative Rock

    ”Uplifting”, “transcending” and “transformative” are terms I seem to be using more often lately when writing about and describing music. And although I think it could very well be my own association with the music and therefore a reflection of my own state of mind, it is still the best description I can come up with when describing Jettison by And So I Watch You From Afar (ASIWYFA). Especially when listening to Jettison as a whole, fittingly called a score by the band, the music takes the listener on an associative, euphoric and exploratory journey of one’s state of mind.

    Continue reading >

  • Turpentine Valley - Alder

    19 Feb 2022 - Sebastian
    Post-Metal / Post-Rock

    It is finally time for Turpentine Valley’s second album and let me tell you right of the bat: It is just as good as their first one! Their combination of heavy and dark post rock is just phenomenal and if you’ve slept on their debut, you definitely need to check this out.

    Continue reading >

  • Lark's Tongue - Eleusis

    18 Feb 2022 - Knut
    Progressive Rock/Psychedelic Rock/Shoegaze

    With an album title referencing the ancient Greek mysteries of Eleusis invoking Demeter and her daughter Persephone, and a band name derived from one of the giants of progressive music, Lark’s Tongue conjure up fascinating sonics. Their sound is an amalgam of progressive rock, heavy metal, psychedelic rock and shoegaze that sometimes glistens in its cascading heaviness, lifted by the ever-present gliding organ-like synths, and driven forward by an inventive rhythm section.

    Continue reading >

  • Frank Turner - FTHC

    16 Feb 2022 - Sebastian
    Hardcore / Folk / Punk

    Since last Friday I have been recommending Frank Turner’s newest album to basically everyone I meet, so it seems just natural to write down my thoughts on this incredible piece of work for you all and hope that you will also give it a spin.

    Continue reading >

  • First Draft - Declines Are Long Gone

    16 Feb 2022 - Ben
    Rock / Post Rock

    The dynamic French duo return to the fray with their second studio release – a multifaceted 5 track EP that’s part quiet introspection, part self-motivational speech and part fight song.

    Continue reading >

  • Zeal & Ardor - s/t

    15 Feb 2022 - Stephan
    Black Metal, Gospel, Synthwave, Soul

    As much as Zeal & Ardor has been stirring waves in the metal world since its rather unnoticed inception in 2013 and eventually going viral in 2016, the existence of this new album should never be taken for granted. Because with a music project based on some random internet douche’s joking suggestion to mix black metal and “n-word” music - what is actually supposed not to go wrong?

    Continue reading >

  • Bank Myna - VOLAVERUNT

    14 Feb 2022 - Sebastian
    Post-Rock

    Bank Myna’s debut album is unlike anything I have reviewed so far. The Parisian trio created something beautiful, haunting and captivating, which is perfect for this misty time of the year. Join me on an adventure into the soundscapes of VOLAVERUNT.

    Continue reading >

  • Salo - From Melmac With Hate

    12 Feb 2022 - Thorsten
    Noise-Rock

    James Bond and ALF meet in France… sounds like a bad joke? Not if you think like Salo: the French noise-rock trio released their debut record last month and it should be something for all those who like Metz, Thee Oh Sees or Pissed Jeans. Powerful, straight to the point and uncompromising. Sounds intriguing, right?

    Continue reading >

  • Cult of Luna - The Long Road North

    11 Feb 2022 - Jonas
    Post-Metal

    Cult of Luna from Sweden are the current torchbearers of modern post-metal and they have been a band for nearly 25 years now. They have not, however, shown any signs of slowing down, save for that mostly introspective period between the albums Eternal Kingdom (2008) and Vertikal (2013), where they went through some lineup changes. During the nine years since then, they have released a split EP with The Old Wind, a universally lauded collaborative album with Julie Christmas, a few live albums, a studio album, and an EP. It has only been a year since their last release and now it is, once again, time to prepare yourself for a gruesome journey, on “The Long Road North”, their ninth studio album!

    Continue reading >

  • We Broke The Weather - We Broke The Weather

    10 Feb 2022 - Daniel F.
    Prog Rock

    By its very definition, progressive rock should challenge, surprise and add value to the genre as a whole. Over the years we have seen many bands come and go - some leaving more of a lasting impression than others - lots of which get stuck in the rut of writing what they think prog ‘should’ sound like, rather than how they feel it ‘could’ be perceived. When the Massachusetts quintet We Broke The Weather hit my radar a few weeks ago, it didn’t take long for them to cement themselves as the latter in my mind, and since then their debut album has drilled itself deep into my consciousness by way of creative hooks and brave, diverse songwriting. In other words, it’s bloody good.

    Continue reading >

  • Comeback Kid - Heavy Steps

    10 Feb 2022 - Sebastian
    Hardcore

    When reading the name Comeback Kid one thing immediately comes to mind: No nonsense oldschool hardcore. In the twenty years since their inception they only released seven albums, which isn’t a lot, when you consider that every album clocks in at about 30 minutes. So how does their new album Heavy Steps hold its ground?

    Continue reading >

  • Norna - Star Is Way Way Is Eye

    09 Feb 2022 - Simon
    post metal sludge metal

    The debut album by Norna comes roaring out of the deepest recesses of the earth to delightfully pummel you into a new way of thinking

    Continue reading >

  • Thought Trials - Full of Sound and Fury, Signifying Nothing

    08 Feb 2022 - Jonas
    Post-Rock / Post-Hardcore

    Since June 2020, the Buffalo-based solo project called Thought Trials has released two EPs and four stand-alone singles, and now it’s finally time for the genre-bending debut album – Full of Sound and Fury, Signifying Nothing!

    Continue reading >

Page 10 of 31